Strollers

Mountain Buggy Nano V2 Review

June 5, 2018

The Mountain Buggy Nano V2 began our venture into lightweight, compact strollers. I have always preferred larger strollers over umbrella strollers so when we had the chance to review a lightweight, compact folding stroller I was all over it. The Mountain Buggy Nano V2 is the second Nano version has a lot of great features and accessory options!

Mountain Buggy Nano Review

The seat is suitable from birth (with the newborn cocoon) to a whopping 44lbs! To give a little visual, Jensen is almost 4yo and can fit perfect in the seat with room to go. It is so pleasantly surprising how much room the Mountain Buggy Nano actually carries for something so light and compact. There are three sizing positions for the 5 Point harness on the seat of the Nano and I have to say, this isn’t my most favorite feature design wise.
Now, I love a 5 point harness but the way the straps adjust on the Nano V2 are so easy for little hands to figure out and we cannot use this for Miller who is nearing 2, because he likes to loosen his straps and hang over the side of the seat which is obviously terrifying. Built into the seat frame is an adjustable, 2 position, foot rest. This is a great feature for growing babes and one that certainly comes in handy when laying flat. For older kiddos there is also a foot pedestal at the bottom so it truly is designed to accommodate that 44 pounder.
When laying flat (or anytime) the Nano has a great mesh ventilation window at the top of the seat that can be utilized with a velcro closure/opening. This is perfect for airflow especially on those hotter days.

Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 8.10.19 PMMountain Buggy Nano Review

The canopy on the Mountain Buggy Nano is a nice size when opened and has a smaller panel that can also be pulled out. I don’t have any complaints on the Nano V2 canopy which is definitely an upgrade from the first version. What I do wish was a tad different is that when the canopy is not in use, it really blocks the handle bar as seen below. This is something that I am expecting will be remedied for future models (which hopefully will be a thing).

Mountain Buggy Nano Review

Mountain Buggy Nano Review

The Underbasket is a pretty decent size and can hold our backpack diaper bag as well as our Tula carrier which is always nice. Compared to other compact strollers of the same genre, this is one of the more impressive under baskets and designed well in that your necessities are not going to fall out when using it.
I have heard a lot of users saying they wished there was a designated spot for the carry bag when not using this folded up and there is! There is a tiny little pocket under the seat that is perfect to hold the universal carseat strap and the travel bag (both included) so make sure you look for this!

Mountain Buggy Nano Review

The Fold is a great two step fold and it goes down to a compact size of 22 x 12.2 x 20″ which allows it to fit into most luggage. It is an easy fold on paper but can sometimes be a bit frustrating. There are two buttons on the sides of the handle bar, push these in to fold the handle bar down and then from there with one hand you grab the bar under the back of the seat and just tug. It sounds simple but there have been many times that it sticks for me and I look like a crazy lady shaking my stroller. Once folded, the handle bar does lock in place which I have found causes it to release fairly easy. If you immediately put your Mountain Buggy Nano into the travel bag, this should not be a problem.

Mountain Buggy Nano Review

Mountain Buggy Nano Review

THE DETAILS

  • 22 x 12.2 x 20″ when folded and 13lbs
  • easy, one hand flick out unfold, two hand fold
  • shoulder strap for hands free carry
  • exposed carry handle when folded in satchel
  • mesh ventilation with seat reclined
  • easy pedal brake
  • travel system ready – built in safety belts to safely secure a car seat capsule to nano – no need to purchase additional adaptors! car seat models
  • lie flat option with the newborn cocoon
  • newborn (with cocoon) to 44lbs
  • compatible with following car seats:
    • Mountain Buggy protect
    • phil&teds alpha
    • Graco Snugride Click Connnect 22 + 35
    • Peg Perego Primo Viaggio
    • Maxi-Cosi Pebble
    • Maxi-Cosi Cabriofix
    • Maxi-Cosi Mico
    • Safe ‘n’ Sound Unity
    • Chicco Keyfit

ACCESORIES

Mountain Buggy has SO many accessories but these are our favorites. You can click the photo to purchase!
Mountain Buggy Nano ReviewFree Rider allows the Nano to accommodate two kiddos!
Mountain Buggy Nano Review Waterproof Stroller Hand Muffs
Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 8.14.27 PM The bar/food tray cannot be used while folded
Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 8.11.12 PM All Weather Cover Set
Mountain Buggy Nano ReviewNewborn Cocoon
Mountain Buggy Nano Review Lambswool Liner
Mountain Buggy Nano ReviewWinter Ski

 

FINAL THOUGHTS
Overall, we really love the Mountain Buggy Nano V2 and think it is a perfect compact stroller for any occasion. I wish that we didn’t have the issue we do with the straps constantly loosening but we can still use it for Jensen who at her age knows a bit more about safety and not undoing her straps. With the easy strap adjustment in mind and mentioned, I would still recommend the Nano. I am 5’10” and don’t mind the non-adjusting handle bar and overall just think this is a great stroller!

Screen Shot 2018-08-06 at 8.10.55 PM.png

Related Products